And the Mountains Echoed, Kaled Hosseini – Book Review

I was so excited for this book, because I loved both The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, and I was not disappointed. Hosseini has a wonderful writing technique which liltingly takes you away on a splendid journey that is both brutally honest and emotionally traumatic. However, it is a journey that I thoroughly enjoy nonetheless and never want to leave.

And the Mountains Echoed tells the story of how familial acts of sacrifice, honour, love and betrayal impinge on the lives of future generations. This book is different to his others in that it is not one linear story but many different stories that are all somewhat interlinked within each other. There were times where I wanted to know more about a certain character and what their ending was but this was followed by wishing that another character’s ending was less traumatic.

The book tells the story of how by sacrificing his daughter for money, Saboor’s other children and his surrounding family are affected deeply for the rest of their lives in significant ways. The first story where we follow the child-like innocence of Abdullah on his way to Kabul had me in tears at the end because it was just so heart-breaking.

I am a historian and I feel that after reading Hosseini’s books I have more of an understanding of Afghanistan’s history and the unfolding of events in the past fifty years or so. This is another high point for me.

All in all, this book is so wonderfully written with Hosseini’s soothing voice weaving the tale of many different characters and teaching us the lesson that familial ties are much stronger than we think and can never truly be broken. I loved this book so much and I am eagerly anticipating the next Hosseini book in the future.

Leave a Reply

